The Consensus Building Approach

Sun, 05/28/2017

We Need Science Diplomacy!

My colleague, Professor Paul Berkman, has launched a Science Diplomacy Center at Tufts University. This is a campus-wide initiative coordinated...

Sun, 05/07/2017

What's Happening in the Field of Urban Planning?

The MIT Department of Urban Studies and Planning is one of 72 university departments in North America that offers...

Sat, 01/28/2017

Socially Responsible Real Estate Development (Part II)

In my preceding blog post, I argued that socially-responsible real estate development can not be achieved merely by...

Sun, 09/11/2016

Socially-Responsible Real Estate Development (Part I)

I am trying to build a MOOC (an open course on line) that will help anyone engaged in real estate development, or any...

Sun, 06/12/2016

Teaching Negotiation Online: What Happens when you Adopt a UX (User Experience Design) Orientation?

I taught an online negotiation course for the first time this...

Mon, 12/28/2015

Successful Entrepreneurs Must Learn To Negotiate

If you can’t negotiate, you can’t be a successful entrepreneur. My new online class at MIT is designed to help both...

Thu, 08/13/2015

The Effects of Climate Change Are All Local: Here's What You Can Do to Help Manage the Risks

We've spent far too much time thinking about the global causes of climate change, and not...

Sun, 06/07/2015

It's the Process, Stupid!

For part of every year, I live in the most libertarian state in America. My family and I have spent our summers and winter vacations in the same small...

Tue, 05/12/2015

Evaluating a Consensus Building Effort

I worry a lot about how to evaluate the success or failure of consensus building efforts in which I get involved.  When I try to convince someone...

Sun, 04/19/2015

The Academic Life: Not much of a Community

I've been part of the same academic department for more than 40 years. For 12 of those years, I had management responsibility. All told,...